Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 Send TopicPrint
Normal Topic Unclear about how sync preferences work (Read 1148 times)
camner
Member
Offline
Posts: 14
Joined: Dec 13th, 2017
Re: Unclear about how sync preferences work
Reply #2 - Dec 7th, 2021 at 11:58am
Print Post  
Thank you for your very clear and quick response!
  
Back to top
 
IP Logged
 
Jerry Krinock
Admin
Offline
Posts: 1580
Location: San Jose, California, USA
Joined: Sep 29th, 2008
Re: Unclear about how sync preferences work
Reply #1 - Dec 7th, 2021 at 8:17am
Print Post  
Hello, camner.

Thank you for contacting us.

The import/export checkmark applies when…

(1) you click in the main menu: File > Import/Export to all
(2) behind the scenes with background syncing, performed by Synkmark's agent, while Synkmark is quit.

It does not apply when you click in the main menu: File > Import/Export to only….

The answer to your last question is no.  Only browsers for which Import is switched on are watched for changes.
  

Jerry Krinock
Back to top
IP Logged
 
camner
Member
Offline
Posts: 14
Joined: Dec 13th, 2017
Unclear about how sync preferences work
Dec 7th, 2021 at 5:33am
Print Post  
I'm a bit unclear about the implications of checking both the import and export boxes for all browsers I'm using.

Does the import/export checkmark only apply when SynkMark (or the others) is opened and used to manually synk bookmarks across browsers, or do the checkmarks also determine what happens behind the scenes with background syncing?

That is, if I check Import and Export for Chrome, but leave Import UNchecked for Safari and Firefox, if I add or delete a bookmark in Safari or Firefox, will this change be synced across all three browsers?

Thanks!
  
Back to top
 
IP Logged
 
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send TopicPrint