Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 Send TopicPrint
Sticky Topic How Deleted Bookmarks Unexpectedly Reappear (Read 1015 times)
Jerry Krinock
Admin
Offline
Posts: 1481
Location: San Jose, California, USA
Joined: Sep 29th, 2008
How Deleted Bookmarks Unexpectedly Reappear
Mar 2nd, 2019 at 12:15pm
Print Post  
When Synkmark or BookMacster are configured to sync browsers, bookmarks deleted in one browser will usually be deleted in other browsers.  But if you are not careful they can reappear.  This is because Apple's removal of Sync Services from Safari in 2011 has left our apps using a strategy which is a little dumb but safe.

Our Strategy

That strategy is: when our app performs a sync, it imports from whatever browser(s) have changed since the last sync.  So if you have delete a bookmark in, say, Chrome, and there have been no recent changes in Safari, only Chrome will be imported, and the bookmark will be deleted from Safari also as expected.  But if there have been changes in both Chrome and Safari within a few minutes of each other, our app will import from both Chrome and Safari, and, to be safe, not delete anything which is in either.  Because your deleted bookmark is still in Safari, it will reappear in Chrome.

Relation to Minutes to wait… in Preferences > Syncing

When deleting bookmarks in browsers, you should therefore be careful to wait until all prior changes have synced to all browsers, taking account of the fact that, to reduce resource usage, by default, our apps wait 5 minutes after a change before syncing (thus coalescing what could be multiple changes in those 5 minutes into a single syncing operation).  Allowing a minute for syncing, the time you should wait is therefore 6 minutes.  If desired, you can change this wait time in Preferences > Syncing to be as low as 1 minute, so you only need to wait 2 minutes.

Othere Possible Causes

There are other forces that can change bookmarks and cause unexpected results like deleted bookmarks reappearing:

• Bookmarks are changed when iCloud and Chrome’s built-in sync receives changes from other devices.
• If you have a Sync Loop, bookmarks are constantly changing, and the Sync Loop itself will cause deleted bookmarks to reappear.
• If your iCloud is on the fritz and iCloud needs to be rebuilt, iCloud itself will cause deleted bookmarks to reappear.

Of course, you should the latter two issues for other reasons.

Summary

To summarize, deleting bookmarks in browsers usually works as expected, because you don't usually change bookmarks in multiple browsers within a few minutes.  But if you want a more sure fire method, launch BookMacster or Synkmark and delete the bookmarks within BookMacster or Synkmark.  In particular, this is recommended if you want to delete a large number of bookmarks or folders.

« Last Edit: Mar 4th, 2019 at 1:23pm by Jerry Krinock »  

Jerry Krinock
Back to top
IP Logged
 
Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send TopicPrint