3.2  Consolidating Your Bookmarks

You may have bookmarks in disparate old collections, in different web browsers, online services, Macs, computers running Microsoft Windows, smart phones, etc. which you wish to consolidate into one Bookmarkshelf document.  This section describes several tools available in the app to help with that.

       Topics on this Page

3.2.1  Singular Import/Exports

The Import from and Export to features provides several facilities for manual imports of bookmarks from a selected source.  To use this, activate a Bookmarkshelf Document), click the File menu, then the desired action.  They’re near the bottom.

Submenu Selections

The items at the top of the menu are the available browser apps which have ben found in your Macintosh user account, and those web-based apps which are generally available.

If your target is an XBEL file or other file which is loose somewhere on a mounted drive, such as your hard drive, click the submenu item Choose File (Advanced) which is at the bottom.

The Import from and Export to items in the File menu allow you to execute one_time imports or exports without adding or configuring a Client.

To import from or export to a loose, standalone file such as an XBEL file that you have exported from another bookmarks managedment application, click the Choose File (Advanced) menu item.  Then, take care to properly choose New File or Existing File at the top of the sheet.

Normal Import/Export versus Overlay

Normal Import or Export

For clients which are not listed in Settings > Clients for the current document, a normal import or export will use the default settings for new clients.  In particular, this means that any items not existing in the source will be deleted in the destination.  Also, since this is a first import or export with this client, you will not be warned if the operation exceeds the applicable Safe Sync Limit.

For clients which are listed in Settings > Clients for the current document, a normal import or export will use deviate from the defaults, using whatever advanced settings for that client and, for Imports, any Import Postprocessing settings you have set.  In other words, it’s just like you had clicked in the menu File > Import from all or File > Export to all, except that if the Bookmarkshelf has multiple Clients, only one Client will be involved.

Overlay

An overlay import or export differs from the normal in that no items in the destination will be deleted.  More precisely, Delete Unmatched Items is OFF.

Combining Import/Export with Other Operations

If you want to use an Overlay during an Import, but still have unmatched items deleted, you can do this by clicking in the menu: Bookmarks(helf) > Delete All Content prior to importing.  After deleting, you should also visit the Settings > Structure tab and configure as desired.  Similarly, if you wish to create a file which has only items exported from your Bookmarkshelf, you should export to a New File.

3.2.2  Extracting Bookmarks from Other Bookmarks Management Applications

You can migrate your bookmarks from URL Manager Pro™, Webnote™, or Webnote Happy™ to the app via an XBEL file.  To do this,

3.2.3  Drag, Drop, Copy Paste

In addition to accepting drags and copy/pastes from other Bookmarkshelf documents,  Bookmarkshelf documents accept drags and copy/pastes from many other applications, as well as text in a a a simple tab-return format

3.2.4  Consolidate Folders

Consolidating bookmarks from multiple sources collected over a period of years can often leave you

The app can search for such items and automatically perform the desired operations.  To perform this operation, click in the menu: Bookmarks(helf) > Consolidate Folders.  If you have such folders nested inside one another, you may need to perform this operation more than once.  As usual, if the operation results in a less desireable result, you may Edit > Undo.

Note that the app’s definition of duplicate folders is more restrictive than that of a duplicate bookmarks.  To be considered duplicates, folders must (a) have the same parent folder, that is, be siblings of one another and (b) have the same name, where uppercase and lowercase differences are ignored so that, for example, “News” = “NEWS”.)  Empty folders are deleted whether they were made empty by the merging, or whether they were empty to begin with.

Note that merging some duplicate folders and deleting some empty folders is also performed in the normal course of any Import or Export operation, but in this case the merging and deleting are only performed on folders which became candidates as a result of the Import or Export.


RELATED TOPICS