4.22  Open, Save Automatic Actions

       Topics on this Page

In BookMacster, you can configure a Bookmarkshelf document to do things automatically when it is opened or saved.  Because all of these actions can be performed manually with a click or two, in our opinion, having them performed automatically is annoying and sometimes causes unexpected results.  We therefore recommend that most users leave all checkboxes discussed below switched OFF.  This feature is retained for some early adopters and former Bookdog users who seem to like them.

You edit the settings discussed in this section in the Settings > Open/Save tab of a .bkmslf document which is open in BookMacster.

Note that these settings do not persist if you move the document to another Macintosh account.  Instead, they are Local Settings.

4.22.1  Open after BookMacster launches

This is handy if you intend to keep all of your bookmarks content in a single Bookmarkshelf.  To override it and not have any document open, hold down the alt option key on your keyboard while launching BookMacster.

4.22.2  Auto Import

If this box is checked, the document will Import from its Import Clients immediately upon opening.  This is useful if you would like to keep the document in sync with its Import Clients, without having to remember to Import whenever you open it.

4.22.3  Sort

You can set a Bookmarkshelf to perform a Sort operation immediately upon opening.

4.22.4  Find Duplicates

You can set a Bookmarkshelf to perform a Find Duplicates operation immediately upon opening.

4.22.5  Auto Export

If this box is checked, the document will display a sheet prior to saving or closing if there are unexported changes, giving you a default option to Export to the active Export Clients first.  This is useful if you would like to keep the Export Clients in sync with the document, without having to remember to Export.  This is useful if you would like to keep the document in sync with its Export Clients, without having to remember to Export whenever you save it.

Auto Export only occurs Save operations that are commanded manually.  Save As operations, Save As Move… operations, Save To operations, Auto Saves by Mac OS X 10.7 or later, and Save commands executed by an Agent Worker or AppleScript command will not cause an Auto Export.  (Auto Export upon closing prevents unexported changes from not being exported without your approval in Mac OS X 10.7 or later.)

4.22.6  Overriding Settings

To open a Bookmarkshelf without any of the above prescribed actions being performed, hold down the option key on your keyboard as the document is opening.